Dear Richard Petty


Feb. 28:

Dear Mr. Petty,

I’ve never written a letter before to anyone of importance, so please bear with me. I have just received my decals for the Trans-American  Challenge from Endurorally Association in England and my number for this event is 43. (See photo below) Now, I don’t know if my British friends are aware that is (was) your car number or if this is coincidental. But seeing as we are both North Carolina good ole boys, you being from Level Cross and me from Chapel Hill, they just may have assigned me this number with you in mind. Then again, this could be another  sample of British humour.  I have already noticed that they are inclined to these lapses in professionalism. But being as you are retired from Motorsports events they just might think you wanted this prestigious number carried forward on a make and model that represents another hallmark in auto history.  

Now just in case you  think I might be asking for some favor,  I want to go on record saying that I did not request your number. On the Great Race 2007 I used the number 53 but neither Herbie nor Lindsey Lohan did me any favors then either.  My successes, such as they are, are entirely my own, but don’t tell that to my co-drivers who seem to think they have something to do with it.

Now, I  know  you’re not really into endurance rallying, but I’d be happy if you want to join me at the VIR May 9. I am sure I can convince Janet to let you step the into the driver’s seat and take a lap around the track.  

I want you to know that I am honored to carry your number all the way from New York to Alaska and will do my best to uphold your reputation. If you can’t make the VIR, I’d be happy to meet up with you after the rally at your museum or  at Richard Petty Motorsports, and I promise we won’t discuss politics as I do think we ride on opposite sides of the road in that area.

Just one final question. Just where do you buy your hats? Ed seems to have this yearning for one. But I refuse to all him “The King”.

Your friend in the Motorsports world,

Stewball (a.k.a. The Blue Blaze)

P.S. I hope you’re not offended by my humble exterior. Only those who have read The Long Road to Paris by my co-drivers know what’s under the hood. :)

About ejhowle23

Authors and adventurers, participated in the World Race 2011, an automobile rally from New York to Paris, crossing three continents and 14,000 land miles. Following much the same route as the setting for our debut novel, The Long Road to Paris. This blog describes our own adventures and challenges. And now you can follow our Bahamas sailing adventure that provides the setting for our second novel, Night Watch. Our next car rally, the African Safari Challenge, crossing five countries begins in South Africa, May 2014.
This entry was posted in international travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dear Richard Petty

  1. TBC says:

    Jan and Ed,

    I hope you send that letter off for real, minus that one eensy little type. It’s a great letter, and if #43 came to VIR, that would be fabulous!

    Hugs all around,

    TBC and Arnie

  2. rdsieber says:

    Just don’t bump-draft your opponents like Richard did. There’s not enough metal in Stewie to do that!

  3. Arnie says:

    There’s no way King Richard could refuse such a grand offer!!

    • ejhowle23 says:

      WE’ll see. STewball did send his letter to King Richard, with just a few additions to help him understand the context.
      thanks for the suggestion and info on all of this.

Leave a Reply

