Poetry in Lotion


We spread sunblock on our faces, arms and legs. I am lounging in the cockpit of Silver Girl, our 31 foot sailboat. 80 degrees, sunny skies, fair winds. Time to throw off the lines. I can smell it, taste it, feel it on my skin. The Bahamas are only 100 miles away. 700 islands, crystal clear water, pink sandy beaches,no time-lines, no schedule or personality conflicts.

Silver Girl has air conditioning, an

Highbourne Cay, Bahamas

autopilot and a comfortable mattress. We know the rules of engagement here. Go when the wind is right or stay as long as you want. It’s easy.
Bahamas Blue

So, do we trade this relative luxury for a cramped ’67 Beetle with no comforts at all? But Stewball is now in the middle of the Pacific, and I do want to see him again. And I do want to see China, Kazakhstan, Russia and Europe. And Jan, she’s intent on this new adventure and Silver Girl doesn’t go without her. So, I open my eyes, set aside this dream, check the lines because tomorrow we start for home and wait for the conference call that will tell us whether we are racing, rallying or touring for the remaining 9,000 miles.

And I will be on the road to Paris. I can’t say it better than Kyle Vanderhorn did:

I shall tell this story with no glee,

to grandchildren gathered at my knee.

Two road diverge in a wood and I,

I watch my fellow man and know

Which is the easy way to go.

But alas my ego takes control

Inflicting abuse upon my soul

I take the road where they don’t go,

And learn abruptly what they know.

(The Long Road to Paris, pg. 187)

So, I WILL leave behind beautiful blue water and fair winds and take the unknown road to Paris,

Ed

 

 

 

 

 

About ejhowle23

Authors and adventurers, participated in the World Race 2011, an automobile rally from New York to Paris, crossing three continents and 14,000 land miles. Following much the same route as the setting for our debut novel, The Long Road to Paris. This blog describes our own adventures and challenges. And now you can follow our Bahamas sailing adventure that provides the setting for our second novel, Night Watch. Our rally, the African Safari Challenge, crossed five countries in South Africa in May 2014 and in 2015 we participated in the second Trans-American rally this time from Nova Scotia to San Francisco. Next month we will travel 28 days around Australia with friends from previous rallies. Australia is over. Now on to S. America for the Rally of the Incas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poetry in Lotion

  1. TBC says:

    Bahamas or Paris. Hmmm. What a decision! Bahamas can wait. Paris? Well Paris is like home for you two.

    And did I read that right? You STILL don’t know if you are doing a rally or a race or a tour? You must be kidding. And you leave in early June?

    If you really meant that, it’s the strangest thing I’ve ever heard.

    Good luck, in whatever it is you will be doing in all those exotic places. Have you been introduced to the China teams by e-mail yet? All the folks we know here are bursting with curiosity to know what cars the two teams will be entering.

    Take care, and hugs,

    TBC and Arnie

    • ejhowle23 says:

      First answer yes, I mean that. No news yet. Conference call to come sometime. Second answer, no we don’t know anything about these new teams.
      Ed

  2. rdsieber says:

    I’m an island boy. There’d be no decision matrix for me here!

    Bless your hearts, and I hope the call has a positive outcome for you two.

    =rdsieber

Leave a Reply

